Sample Bundles

This entry is one of many in a series that describes the InfoSphere Open IGC API, which allows you to define your own objects for information governance using InfoSphere Information Server and the Information Governance Catalog.

Previous post in this series:
Updating Your Bundle

Original post in this series:
Open IGC is here!

Here are some sample bundles for you! These bundles correspond to the use cases that I have been describing within this blog series (see “Original post” above). Each .zip file contains a directory structure that is formatted as I described in one of my early posts on bundle design (Open IGC: Defining a new bundle!). These bundles are for demonstration and learning purposes only. There are no warranties or certified methodologies implied.

Each bundle is complete with the asset_type_descriptor, along with several instance publishing upload files and one or more flow model uploads (if applicable to the use case). I have tried to include examples of various techniques, some of which I have already reviewed in these posts, or intend to in the near future. The values for various string properties are fictitious, and in some cases, just repeated and copied in the interest of more quickly building the example. This is especially true with the asset_ids (attribute ID= in the publishing and flow upload xmls), whose values are fairly random. These xml documents were crafted by hand — a good way to start testing — but ultimately, most of you will probably generate these unique identifiers programmatically. The prior posts in this series are enough to help you take these examples, register their bundles and upload their assets and lineage specifications. Then you can play with the instances within IGC, add new ones, update property values via the user interface or with new xml’s, and get further inspired to build your own!

Let me know if you have any problems accessing these zip file, or if you have any further questions about their use. — and let me know if you would like to also share your own creative bundles!

–ernie

Note: This site doesn’t allow me to upload .zip files, so the files at these url’s have been renamed with “.ppt” as an additional suffix. Just rename them after download. They are normal .zip files.

Messaging Use Case

Messaging_bundle_and_content.zip

Abstract “Access Control” Use Case

accessControl_bundle_and_content.zip

Transformation Tool Use Case

PixelStage_bundle_and_content.zip

8 Responses to “Sample Bundles”

  1. Mike King Says:

    Hey Ernie, I really like these articles on Open IGC…

    I am trying to integrate with the RESTAPI to update bundles, assets and flows, which works fine from the sample rest api, but when I try to do the same thing from my nodejs app, I continually get 500 errors, when I am basically doing the same thing as the sample site does. I can successfully do a GET and a DELETE, but neither of these need any POST data. It’s probably something simple, but it doesn’t explain the cause of the error. I found some help that suggests to look at the server log files, and I fished around until I found a SystemOut.log that contained this error:

    Exception created : [javax.ws.rs.WebApplicationException

    It sounds like it’s failing to parse the XML I am providing. I have tried URI Encoding it, but without success.

    Have you used the REST API from another app, or even using curl? Is there some session I need to open? I can’t find any information at all about this.

    Any help would be appreciated

    Cheers

    Mike

    • dsrealtime Says:

      one guess would be to save your xml in a file and try to open in a browser……maybe there are odd characters in your xml string…..dont pretty print it either……(ie….few or no crlfs or spaces that might be unprintables…

      • Mike King Says:

        Thanks for the reply Ernie,

        The XML was definitely well formed, because it was being accepted both by a browser and the manual REST API.

        I managed to find an IGC log file, but it wasn’t very helpful, all it said was “an exception occurred”, followed by a large stack dump which didn’t help me at all.

        I was about to give up, and I thought I would try one more thing, which is when I spotted that I had

        Content-Type: “text/xml”

        Once I changed it to

        Content-Type: “application/xml”

        I started getting 200 responses 🙂 🙂 🙂

        Thanks

        Mike

      • dsrealtime Says:

        ah. Perfect! Yes, an important but subtle point. Thanks for making this discovery and comment for other readers who are starting to use their own tooling to invoke the REST API!

  2. S Says:

    I created class1 by name project, and populated the fields. Below XML API working fine

    Now,i added another new class 2 to the same bundle by name application.When i’m trying to populate the “new class 2” application. Im getting errors . Below the XML API.

    XML descriptor for class2 “containsclassref = Project”. I tried all the possibilities. No Luck.

    Please advise.

    Thanks

  3. kumar Says:

    Hi Erniw, thank you for your reply. It was “containerClassRef”. I typed it wrong.
    Here is the complete bundle description.




    Here is my XML to populate the “Class2-Application”


Leave a Reply

