Real-time Upgrades

I just returned from the west coast on “one more” red-eye, so that I could ostensibly get home and back to work and have a fully productive day.   I never really accomplish that goal, but I keep trying, like all of us, to squeeze out a few extra hours wherever I can find them.  Today’s trip was in coach, but I still managed to get a few hours of sleep, even with two fellow passengers snoring loudly nearby.   Not this time, but quite often I get the “automatic” upgrade as one of Continental’s frequent fliers, which always enhances the otherwise tiring nightime journey.

If you’ve never read anything about CO’s real-time business intelligence system, and the benefits they’ve gained as an enterprise, google it or check out this paper at http://www.fuqua.duke.edu/centers/ccrm/datasets/continental/Continental_Airlines_Case_Study.pdf

They’ve received various awards over the years for their ability to identify their best customers and recognize trends in all aspects of their business.    As a customer, it’s great to be on the receiving end of their real-time BI system.  They notify me when I get an upgrade, and wonder where I’ve been, usually with an inviting mileage offer, if I haven’t flown in awhile.   And I’ve been proactively re-routed in advance when schedules get messed up beyond anyone’s control, as they sometimes do.  Maybe they’ll invent a system that makes real-time seat changes to group all the snorers at the back of the plane.  🙂

Leave a Reply

